Category Archives: Media

Media Contact–

Congratulations to Dina Katabi on receiving the 2017 ACM Prize in Computing

Text originally from ACM Press release. ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, announced today that Dina Katabi of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (MIT CSAIL) is the recipient of the 2017 ACM Prize in Computing for creative contributions to wireless systems. Recognized as one of the most innovative researchers […] (more)

Congratulations to John L. Hennessy and David A. Patterson for receiving the 2017 ACM A.M. Turing Award

ACM News Release: Pioneers of Modern Computer Architecture Receive ACM A.M. Turing Award Hennessy and Patterson’s Foundational Contributions to Today’s Microprocessors Helped Usher in Mobile and IoT Revolutions The ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery (, today named John L. Hennessy, former President of Stanford University, and David A. Patterson, retired Professor of the University […] (more)

Congratulations to Robert P. Langlands who received the Abel Prize 2018

Text originally appeared on The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2018 to Robert P. Langlands of the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, USA “for his visionary program connecting representation theory to number theory.” Robert P. Langlands has been awarded the Abel Prize for his work […] (more)

We bid farewell to Alan Baker

We bid farewell to the groundbreaking mathematician Professor Alan Baker, a Fellow of the Royal Society and of Trinity College, Cambridge and who received the Fields Medal in 1970 “for his fundamental contributions to the theory of Diophantine equations, especially his vast generalization of Gelfond’s method for transcendence proofs.” (more)

Calling Outstanding Young Researchers!

The application process for the 6th Heidelberg Laureate Forum begins November 6, 2017. Young researchers in computer science and mathematics from all over the world can apply for one of the 200 coveted spots to participate in the Heidelberg Laureate Forum (HLF), an annual networking event. The HLF offers all accepted young researchers the great […] (more)

We bid farewell to Vladimir Voevodsky

It is with the greatest distress that we learned about the death of Fields Medalist Vladimir Voevodsky on September 30, 2017, at the age of 51, just one day after the end of the 5th Heidelberg Laureate Forum. Vladimir was an outstanding mathematician, a great teacher, and a genuinely pleasant person. When he participated in […] (more)

Thursday Extract – Scientific Program Includes the Hot Topic Session

Thursday at the 5th HLF got underway with a lectures from Manuel Blum, ACM Turing Award recipient, and Efim Zelmanov, who received the Fields Medal. After the lectures, there was a short break and then the Scientific Program rolled on with the Hot Topic of the 5th HLF which revolved around the fundamental principles of […] (more)