Abel Prize Awarded to Nobel Laureate John Nash and to Louis Nirenberg

The Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation congratulates John Nash and Louis Nirenberg on receiving this year’s Abel Prize, and cordially invites them to participate in the 3rd Heidelberg Laureate Forum this August.

On March 25, the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters announced they will award the Abel Prize to John Forbes Nash, Jr. and Louis Nirenberg. The official ceremony will take place at the University Aula in Oslo, Norway on May 19, 2015. John Nash’s recognition in mathematics is largely owed to his work in game theory, but reaches far outside of the community due to the film A Beautiful Mind. Louis Nirenberg is considered one of the twentieth century’s greatest analysts and has made groundbreaking contributions to the subject of partial differential equations. The Abel Prize is among the highest honors in the field of mathematics, and has been annually awarded since 2003. In appreciation for his work in game theory, in 1994, John Nash became one of the few mathematicians to receive the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences. Today, he became the first person in history to have received both the Abel Prize and the Nobel Prize.

Klaus Tschira, founder of the Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation, personally extends an invitation to both laureates to participate in the 3rd Heidelberg Laureate Forum (HLF) this August in Heidelberg: “We are very pleased to congratulate John Nash and Louis Nirenberg on their well-deserved honor, and humbly invite them to Heidelberg to participate in the fascinating exchange between the brightest minds in mathematics and computer science. Fellow laureates join 200 of the most outstanding young researchers for an inspirational scientific interchange. Due to their achievements and life’s work, the presence of John Nash and Louis Nirenberg would exceptionally enrich the Forum’s experience for both the participants and the organizers.”

The Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation (HLFF) is pleased to announce 12 laureates have already confirmed attendance, and credits the extraordinary success of the two previous Forums. Since 2013, the Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation annually invites the recipients of the Abel Prize, the Fields Medal, the ACM A.M. Turing Award and the Nevanlinna Prize to interact with 200 highly talented young researchers in a week-long event in Heidelberg. The HLF combines a scientific foundation with an exciting program to create an informal atmosphere that encourages a dynamic exchange and ensures a once in a lifetime experience for the participants.

The Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation (HLFF) annually organizes the Heidelberg Laureate Forum (HLF), which is a networking event for mathematicians and computer scientists from all over the world. The 3rd Heidelberg Laureate Forum will take place from August 23 to 28, 2015, with the dates alternating each year between August and September. The HLF was initiated by the German foundation Klaus Tschira Stiftung (KTS), which promotes natural sciences, mathematics and computer science, and the Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies (HITS). The Forum is organized by the HLFF along with the KTS and HITS. It is strongly supported by the award-granting institutions, the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM: ACM A.M. Turing Award), the International Mathematical Union (IMU: Fields Medal, Nevanlinna Prize), and the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (DNVA: Abel Prize).

To the Editors
With this press release, we would like to extend an invitation to attend the 3rd Heidelberg Laureate Forum as well as to report on the event.

Registration and Press Inquiries
Yasmin Keese
Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation
Schloss-Wolfsbrunnenweg 33, 69118 Heidelberg, Germany
Telephone: +49-6221-533-381

Internet: www.heidelberg-laureate-forum.org
Facebook: www.facebook.com/HeidelbergLaureateForum
Twitter: www.twitter.com/HLForum
YouTube: www.youtube.com/LaureateForum
Science Blog: www.scilogs.com/hlf