The Laureates

Copyright © Klaus Tschira Stiftung / Peter Badge

Dana S. Scott

Born 11 October 1932, Berkeley, California, USA.

ACM A.M. Turing Award (1976, together with Michael O. Rabin) for their joint paper “Finite Automata and Their Decision Problem,” which introduced the idea of nondeterministic machines, which has proved to be an enormously valuable concept. Their (Scott & Rabin) classic paper has been a continuous source of inspiration for subsequent work in this field.