Avi Wigderson

* September 9, 1956, Haifa, Israel

Nevanlinna Prize - 1994

For profound contributions to diverse areas of the mathematical foundations of computer science, including complexity theory, zero-knowledge proofs and the study of the computational power of randomness.

Abel Prize - 2021

Together with László Lovász for their foundational contributions to theoretical computer science and discrete mathematics, and their leading role in shaping them into central fields of modern mathematics.

ACM A.M. Turing Award - 2023

For foundational contributions to the theory of computation, including reshaping our understanding of the role of randomness in computation, and for his decades of intellectual leadership in theoretical computer science.