Heidelberg Laureate Forum

Welcome to the

Mathematics and computer science have evolved into a matter of utmost importance in our modern society. We are confronted with the product of mathematical and computational research in all situations and aspects of our daily lives. To ensure that this technical revolution continues to thrive, science in all of its facets has to be persistently promoted and encouraged. The Heidelberg Laureate Forum rises to this challenge by bringing together the most exceptional mathematicians and computer scientists of their generations. Each year, in the last complete week of September, the recipients of the most prestigious awards in mathematics and computer science, the Abel Prize, ACM A.M. Turing Award, ACM Prize in Computing, Fields Medal and Nevanlinna Prize, meet 200 selected young researchers from all over the world. Participants spend a week interacting and networking in a relaxed atmosphere designed to encourage scientific exchange.

Farewell to Isadore M. Singer

We bid farewell to Isadore M. Singer who passed away on February 11, 2021, at the age of 96.

Together with Michael Francis Atiyah, Singer received the 2004 Abel Prize for their discovery and proof of the index theorem, bringing together topology, geometry and analysis, and their outstanding role in building new bridges between mathematics and theoretical physics.


HLFF Spotlight

Welcome to the HLFF Spotlight: Alumni in Action! A series illuminating inspirational collaborations, projects and career developments of HLF alumni and are presented in brief interviews or video documentaries. The first spotlight was cast on HLF alumni of the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta in Nigeria, who developed a tracker that was tested on free-range animals at the university farm. They discuss how their project developed and organizing the workshop where they demonstrated the tracker’s potential to inhibit animal rustling.



Initially developed to provide topical reporting during the annual HLF, the blog hosted by SciLogs has evolved to provide interesting content in English and German from the worlds of mathematics and computer science throughout the year. Contributions include coverage of current discussions and exciting questions from mathematics and computer science, interviews with laureates and young researchers. The idea is to deliver diverse posts for a diverse audience, much like the projects of the HLFF.