The Awards

Abel Prize

The Abel Prize is an international prize presented by the King of Norway to one or more outstanding mathematicians. Named after Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel (1802–1829), the Abel Prize and the Fields Medal have often been described as the “Mathematician’s Nobel Prizes”. It comes with a monetary award of Norwegian krone (NOK) 6 million (approximately US$1 million).

Further information:

ACM Turing Award: The Turing Bowl

ACM A.M. Turing Award

The ACM A.M. Turing Award is an annual prize given by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) to “an individual selected for contributions of a technical nature made to the computing community”. The Turing Award is recognized as the “highest distinction in computer science” and “Nobel Prize of Computing”. The award is named after Alan Mathison Turing, mathematician and reader in mathematics at the University of Manchester. From 2007 to 2013, the award was accompanied by a prize of $250,000. Effective 2014, the funding level has been increased to $1 million, i.e. four times the previous amount.

Further information:

ACM Prize in Computing

The ACM Prize in Computing recognizes an early to mid-career fundamental innovative contribution in computing that, through its depth, impact and broad implications, exemplifies the greatest achievements in the discipline. The award carries a prize of $250,000. Financial support is provided by an endowment from Infosys Ltd.

Further information:

Fields Medal

The Fields Medal is awarded every four years during the opening ceremony of the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM). It recognizes outstanding mathematical achievement for existing work and for the promise of future achievement. Two to four medals are awarded to mathematicians who have to be of age less than forty years on January 1 of the Congress year. The Fields Medal, established in 1936 and named after the Canadian mathematician J. C. Fields, is one of the most prestigious awards in the field of mathematics and often described as the “Nobel Prize of Mathematics”.

Further information:

Nevanlinna Prize

The Rolf Nevanlinna Prize is awarded, once every four years, at the International Congress of Mathematicians for outstanding contributions in Mathematical Aspects of Information Sciences. An awardee’s 40th birthday must not occur before January 1st of the year of the Congress at which the Prize is awarded. The prize was established in 1981 and named to honor the Finnish mathematician Rolf Nevanlinna.

Further information: