Laureate Discussion: Why Do So Many People Hate Mathematics?

Hugo Duminil-Copin, Yael Tauman Kalai, László Lovász, Robert Endre Tarjan, Vicki Hanson

Why Do So Many People Hate Mathematics?

Moderator: Vicki Hanson
Vicki Hanson is a Fellow of ACM, the British Computer Society, and the Royal Society of Edinburgh. She is a past President of ACM and currently serves as ACM’s Chief Executive Officer. Since her post-doctoral research at the Salk Institute, Vicki has focused on making technology accessible. She founded IBM’s Accessibility Research Group, was Professor of Inclusive Technologies at the University of Dundee in Scotland, and a Distinguished Professor at the Rochester Institute of Technology, in the US, Her work has been recognized by an IBM Corporate Award, a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award, the ACM SIGACCESS Award for Contributions to Computing and Accessibility, and election to both the ACM CHI Academy and the National Academy of Engineering.

Hugo Duminil-Copin
Fields Medal - 2022
For solving longstanding problems in the probabilistic theory of phase transitions in statistical physics, especially in dimensions three and four. Yael Tauman Kalai ACM Prize in Computing - 2022 For breakthroughs on verifiable delegation of computation and fundamental contributions to cryptography.

László Lovász
Abel Prize - 2021
Together with Avi Wigderson for their foundational contributions to theoretical computer science and discrete mathematics, and their leading role in shaping them into central fields of modern mathematics.

Robert Endre Tarjan
Nevanlinna Prize - 1982
For devising near-optimal algorithms for many graph-theoretic and geometric problems for the development and exploitation of data structures supporting efficient algorithms, and for contributing several algorithmic analyses of striking profundity and elegance.

ACM A.M. Turing Award - 1986
With John E. Hopcroft, for fundamental achievements in the design and analysis of algorithms and data structures.