The awards

All of the laureates that participate in the HLF each year have received one or more of the six awards recognized by the Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation: the Abel Prize, the ACM A.M. Turing Award, the ACM Prize in Computing, the Fields Medal, the IMU Abacus Medal and the Nevanlinna Prize. Selecting the scientists to be distinguished is done by the three award-granting institutions: the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the International Mathematical Union (IMU) and the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (DNVA).